Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field & Results

Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field, Barrier Draw & Form Guide

by Aussie Punter on November 3, 2017

in Horse Racing

The 2017 Melbourne cup will run at 3:00PM AEST on Tuesday the 7th of November, this is the most recent field of candidates for the race that stops the nation. The final field is released on Saturday the 4th. For now, here are the horses that may be running in the Melbourne Cup this year. Some are all but guaranteed but we won’t know the final field until after the results of the Lexus Stakes are in.

Now that we know the final field, here it is.

Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field, Barriers & Jockeys

No. Horse Trainer Jockey
1. Hartnell (12) James Cummings Damian Lane
2. Almandin (14) Robert Hickmott Frankie Dettori
3. Humidor (13) Darren Weir Blake Shinn
4. Tiberian (23) Alain Couetil Olivier Peslier
5. Marmelo (16) Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman
6. Red Cardinal (24) Andreas Wohler Kerrin McEvoy
7. Johannes Vermeer (3) Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham
8.  Bondi Beach (1) Robert Hickmott Michael Walker
9.  Max Dynamite (2) Willie Mullins Zac Purton
10.  Ventura Storm (6) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Glen Boss
11.  Who Shot Thebarman (20) Chris Waller Tommy Berry
12.  Wicklow Brave (8) Willie Mullins Stephen Baster
13.  Big Duke (5) Darren Weir Brenton Avdulla
14.  US Army Ranger (22) Joseph O’Brien Jamie Spencer
15.  Boom Time (9) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish
16.  Gallante (18) Robert Hickmott Michael Dee
17.  Libran (7) Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn
18.  Nakeeta (19) Iain Jardine Glyn Schofield
19.  Single Gaze (11) Nick Olive Kathy O’Hara
20.  Wall Of Fire (15) Hugo Palmer Craig Williams
21.  Thomas Hobson (21) Willie Mullins Joao Moreira
22.  Rekindling (4) Joseph O’Brien Corey Brown
23.  Amelie’s Star (10) Darren Weir Dean Yendall
24.  Cismontane (17) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Beau Mertens

Below are the complete results from first to last for the 2017 Melbourne Cup.

Final Finishing Order, Complete Results First to Last

F No. Horse Trainer Jockey Odds
1 22 Rekindling Joseph O’Brien Corey Brown $16
2 7 Johannes Vermeer Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham $13
3 9 Max Dynamite William Mullins Zac Purton $20
4 13 Big Duke Darren Weir Brenton Avdulla $21
5 18 Nakeeta Iain Jardine Glyn Schofield $41
6 21 Thomas Hobson William Mullins Ben Allen (a) $21
7 4 Tiberian Alain Couetil Olivier Peslier $31
8 17 Libran Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn $67
9 5 Marmelo Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman $7
10 12 Wicklow Brave William Mullins Stephen Baster $71
11 6 Red Cardinal Andreas Wohler Kerrin McEvoy $16
12 2 Almandin Robert Hickmott Frankie Dettori $7
13 24 Cismontane G Waterhouse & A Bott Beau Mertens (a) $41
14 23 Amelie’S Star Darren Weir Dean Yendall $26
15 15 Boom Time D & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 0EF
16 20 Wall Of Fire Hugo Palmer Craig Williams $11
17 19 Single Gaze Nick Olive Ms Kathy O’Hara $34
18 14 Us Army Ranger Joseph O’Brien Jamie Spencer $71
19 3 Humidor Darren Weir Blake Shinn $11
20 1 Hartnell James Cummings Damian Lane $29
21 10 Ventura Storm D & B H & T Dabernig Glen Boss $35
22 8 Bondi Beach Robert Hickmott Michael Walker $71
23 16 Gallante Robert Hickmott Michael Dee $201
SCR 11 Who Shot Thebarman Chris Waller Tommy Berry N/A

Congratulations to Rekindling, the low weight helped him to get across the line at the end, not to take anything away from Corey Brown’s ride. A really deserving winner and another exciting finish to Australia’s richest horse race. It’s interesting that the first four each came from inside barriers, Rekindling (4), Johannes Vermeer (3), Max Dynamite (2) and Big Duke (5). This year the first four paid a little over $50,000, twice more than last year. Now that would have been a nice collect!

So the Melbourne Cup has been and gone for another year. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get my tips or an odds comparison table on the website. No matter, there’s always next time. I hope you had a good time and enjoyed a win and a cold drink or two on the day.

Aussie Punter

Previous post:

Next post: