Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field & Results

Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field, Barrier Draw & Form Guide

by Aussie Punter on November 3, 2017

in Horse Racing

The 2017 Melbourne cup will run at 3:00PM AEST on Tuesday the 7th of November, this is the most recent field of candidates for the race that stops the nation. The final field is released on Saturday the 4th. For now, here are the horses that may be running in the Melbourne Cup this year. Some are all but guaranteed but we won’t know the final field until after the results of the Lexus Stakes are in.

Now that we know the final field, here it is.

Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Field, Barriers & Jockeys

1.Hartnell (12)James CummingsDamian Lane
2.Almandin (14)Robert HickmottFrankie Dettori
3.Humidor (13)Darren WeirBlake Shinn
4.Tiberian (23)Alain CouetilOlivier Peslier
5.Marmelo (16)Hughie MorrisonHugh Bowman
6.Red Cardinal (24)Andreas WohlerKerrin McEvoy
7.Johannes Vermeer (3)Aidan O’BrienBen Melham
8. Bondi Beach (1)Robert HickmottMichael Walker
9. Max Dynamite (2)Willie MullinsZac Purton
10. Ventura Storm (6)David & B Hayes & T DabernigGlen Boss
11. Who Shot Thebarman (20)Chris WallerTommy Berry
12. Wicklow Brave (8)Willie MullinsStephen Baster
13. Big Duke (5)Darren WeirBrenton Avdulla
14. US Army Ranger (22)Joseph O’BrienJamie Spencer
15. Boom Time (9)David & B Hayes & T DabernigCory Parish
16. Gallante (18)Robert HickmottMichael Dee
17. Libran (7)Chris WallerDwayne Dunn
18. Nakeeta (19)Iain JardineGlyn Schofield
19. Single Gaze (11)Nick OliveKathy O’Hara
20. Wall Of Fire (15)Hugo PalmerCraig Williams
21. Thomas Hobson (21)Willie MullinsJoao Moreira
22. Rekindling (4)Joseph O’BrienCorey Brown
23. Amelie’s Star (10)Darren WeirDean Yendall
24. Cismontane (17)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottBeau Mertens

Below are the complete results from first to last for the 2017 Melbourne Cup.

Final Finishing Order, Complete Results First to Last

122RekindlingJoseph O’BrienCorey Brown$16
27Johannes VermeerAidan O’BrienBen Melham$13
39Max DynamiteWilliam MullinsZac Purton$20
413Big DukeDarren WeirBrenton Avdulla$21
518NakeetaIain JardineGlyn Schofield$41
621Thomas HobsonWilliam MullinsBen Allen (a)$21
74TiberianAlain CouetilOlivier Peslier$31
817LibranChris WallerDwayne Dunn$67
95MarmeloHughie MorrisonHugh Bowman$7
1012Wicklow BraveWilliam MullinsStephen Baster$71
116Red CardinalAndreas WohlerKerrin McEvoy$16
122AlmandinRobert HickmottFrankie Dettori$7
1324CismontaneG Waterhouse & A BottBeau Mertens (a)$41
1423Amelie’S StarDarren WeirDean Yendall$26
1515Boom TimeD & B Hayes & T DabernigCory Parish0EF
1620Wall Of FireHugo PalmerCraig Williams$11
1719Single GazeNick OliveMs Kathy O’Hara$34
1814Us Army RangerJoseph O’BrienJamie Spencer$71
193HumidorDarren WeirBlake Shinn$11
201HartnellJames CummingsDamian Lane$29
2110Ventura StormD & B H & T DabernigGlen Boss$35
228Bondi BeachRobert HickmottMichael Walker$71
2316GallanteRobert HickmottMichael Dee$201
SCR11Who Shot ThebarmanChris WallerTommy BerryN/A

Congratulations to Rekindling, the low weight helped him to get across the line at the end, not to take anything away from Corey Brown’s ride. A really deserving winner and another exciting finish to Australia’s richest horse race. It’s interesting that the first four each came from inside barriers, Rekindling (4), Johannes Vermeer (3), Max Dynamite (2) and Big Duke (5). This year the first four paid a little over $50,000, twice more than last year. Now that would have been a nice collect!

So the Melbourne Cup has been and gone for another year. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get my tips or an odds comparison table on the website. No matter, there’s always next time. I hope you had a good time and enjoyed a win and a cold drink or two on the day.

Aussie Punter

Previous post:

Next post: