Caulfield Cup

The Caulfield Cup is one of Australia’s richest and most popular Group 1 races in the lead-up to the main attraction of the Spring Racing Carnival, the Melbourne Cup, This race attracts champion thoroughbreds from all around the world and the prize pool now totals more than $2.5 million Australian dollars.

Racing well in this race can earn a well deserved place in the prestigious Melbourne Cup. The Caulfield Cup is open to all horses over 3 years of age and is raced over 2,400 metres, which is the perfect preparation distance for the first Tuesday in November. Many professional punters and tipsters recommend that if you’re interested in betting on the Melb. Cup, you should watch this race, (as well as others such as the Geelong Cup) closely to see how each horse finishes the race. If the thoroughbreds are good stayers, they will finish the Caulfield Cup strongly. If they seem to be tiring in the later stages, it’s unlikely that they’ll be ready to win over longer distances.

If a horse wins both the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup, it is called the “Cups Double”. So far, 11 horses have been successful; Poseidon, The Trump, Rivette, Rising Fast, Even Stevens, Galilee, Gurner’s Lane, and more recently; Let’s Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might and Power (1997) and Ethereal (2001).

Other recent winners of the Caulfield Cup include champion race horses All The Good, Master O’Reilly, Tawqweet, Railings and Northerly.

2015 Caulfield Cup Field

1. Protectionist (12) B AVDULLA 58 kg 51.00
2. Snow Sky (3) D Oliver 58 kg 8.50
3. Fame Game (1) Z Purton 57 kg 10.00
4. Our Ivanhowe (17) B MELHAM 56 kg 26.00
5. Hokko Brave (19) C WILLIAMS 55.5 kg 17.00
6. Mongolian Khan (9) O BOSSON 55 kg 5.00
7. Trip To Paris (5) T BERRY 55 kg 34.00
8. Who Shot Thebarman (21) B SHINN 54.5 kg 26.00
9. Grand Marshal (6) J CASSIDY 53.5 kg 51.00
10. Royal Descent (22) G BOSS 53.5 kg 16.00
11. Volkstok’n’barrell (11) C NEWITT 53.5 kg 31.00
12. Hauraki (14) JAMES MCDONALD 53 kg 9.00
13. Lucia Valentina (20) DWAYNE DUNN 53 kg 34.00
14. Rising Romance (2) D LANE 53 kg 11.00
15. Magicool (15) J WINKS 52 kg 151.00
16. Gust Of Wind (13) C SCHOFIELD 51 kg 21.00
17. Set Square (16) K MCEVOY 51 kg 9.50
18. Magnapal (18) D YENDALL 50 kg 34.00
19. Quest For More (8) T BERRY 53.5 kg
20. Complacent (10) 53 kg
21. Dibayani (7) 53 kg
22. Magic Hurricane (4) 52.5 kg

Final 2015 Caulfield Cup Results

1st: Mongolian Khan

2nd: Trip To Paris

3rd: Our Ivanhowe

Videos of Recent Winning Caulfield Cup Horses

2015 Caulfield Cup Winner – Mongolian Khan

1st – Mongolian Khan
2nd – Trip To Paris
3rd – Our Ivanhowe
4th – Gust of Wind

2014 Caulfield Cup Winner – Admire Rakti

1st – Admire Rakti
2nd – Rising Romance
3rd – Lucia Valentina
4th – Brambles

2013 Caulfield Cup Winner – Fawkner

1st – Fawkner
2nd – Dandino
3rd – Dear Demi
4th – Jet Away

2012 Caulfield Cup Winner – Dunaden

1st – Dunaden
2nd – Alcopop
3rd – Lights of Heaven
4th – Americain

Caulfield Cup winners and placings since 1990

Year 1st 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Mongolian Khan Trip To Paris Our Ivanhowe 2:27.76
2014 Admire Rakti Rising Romance Lucia Valentina 2:32.1
2013 Fawkner Dandino Dear Deni 2:29.10
2012 Dunaden Alcopop Lights of Heaven 2:28.8
2011 Southern Speed Green Moon Tullamore 2:28.4
2010 Descarado Harris Tweed Monaco Consul 2:35.6
2009 Viewed Roman Emporer Vigor 2:29.7
2008 All The Good Nom Du Jeu Barbaricus 2:27.4
2007 Master O’Reilly (NZ) Douro Valley Princess Coup 2:26.1
2006 Tawqeet (USA) Aqua Damore Delta Blues 2:27.6
2005 Railings Eye Popper Mummify 2:27.9
2004 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Grey Song 2:31.3
2003 Mummify Grey Song Distinctly Secret 2:25.9
2002 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Republic Lass 2:30.3
2001 Ethereal (NZ) Sky Heights Celestial Show 2:30.9
2000 Diatribe Kaapstad Way Fairway 2:25.3
1999 Sky Heights (NZ) Laebeel Inaflury 2:30.1
1998 Taufans Melody Lisas Game Tie The Knot 2:30.1
1997 Might & Power (NZ) Doriemus Catalan Opening 2:26.2
1996 Arctic Scent Circles Of Gold Iron Horse 2:30.3
1995 Doriemus (NZ) Count Chivas Beaux Art 2:28.1
1994 Paris Lane Alcove Tenor 2:26.5
1993 Fraar (IRE) Air Seattle The Phantom 2:28.0
1992 Mannerism Veandercross Aquidity 2:34.9
1991 Lets Elope (NZ) Ivory Way Royal Creation 2:30.3
1990 Sydeston Water Boatman Shuzohra 2:31.6

Latest Caulfield Cup News

  • 2014 Caulfield Cup Betting Odds Thursday, 16 October 2014
    This Saturday, all eyes will be on the 2014 Caulfield Cup. This is one of the races to watch closely if you’re interested in betting on the Melbourne Cup, as the distance of 2,400 metres is a great. […]
  • Tavago back in contention for Caulfield – Melbourne Cup campaign Monday, 26 June 2017
    Tavago is back in work now after a ten week break and Busuttin is preparing him for the Group 1 $3m BMW Caulfield Cup (2400m) at Caulfield on October 21 and the Group 1 $6m Melbourne Cup (3200m) at Fl. […]
  • Caulfield Cup Spring target for stablemates Bonneval and Jon Snow Monday, 26 June 2017
    The two rising four year olds gave Cambridge co-trainers Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman a three year old classic double at Randwick during the 2017 Sydney Autumn Carnival with Bonneval winning the Gr. […]
  • Bonneval And Jon Snow 2017 Caulfield Cup Candidates Monday, 26 June 2017
    Forsman trains out of Cambridge in partnership with Murray Baker who enjoyed a win in $3 million Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) two years ago with Mongolian Khan (2015) as a solo trainer. This season t. […]
  • Memsie Stakes return for NZ stars Monday, 26 June 2017
    Before Baker joined forces with Forsman, he won the 2015 Caulfield Cup with Mongolian Khan, a target for both Jon Snow and Bonneval. “Obviously they are both Caulfield Cup candidates, so that would. […]
  • Stablemates Aiming For Melbourne Monday, 26 June 2017
    Murray Baker knows what it takes to win a G1 Caulfield Cup having done so with Mongolian Khan (Aus) (Holy Roman Emperor {Ire}), who like Jon Snow, was also a G1 BMW Australian Derby winner the same ye. […]
  • Humidor Targets Caulfield Cup 2017 Sunday, 25 June 2017
    The 2017 Caulfield Cup is the confirmed major spring racing target for Australian Cup winner Humidor according to trainer Darren Weir. Recording breaking Victorian horseman Weir has in the past 30 yea. […]
  • Tavago could contest Caulfield Cup/Melbourne Cup Sunday, 25 June 2017
    After initial fears Tavago would miss the spring carnival, the Group One winner is back in light work with connections hoping to target the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup. The 2016 Australian Derby w. […]
  • Sons of Australian broodmare Hveger dominate at Royal Ascot Sunday, 25 June 2017
    Ironically Idaho’s uncle Elvstroem (who, like Hveger, was by Danehill out of Circles Of Gold) won the Caulfield Cup in 2004, so the family has already demonstrated its capacity to succeed in what is o. […]