Cox Plate

W.S. Cox Plate

The W.S. Cox Plate is held in Melbourne every October in Moonee Valley in memory of the Moonee Valley Racing Club’s founder, William Samuel Cox. Horses 3 years of age or older are eligible to run the Cox Palte and the horse race is widely regarded as the Weight for Age championship of Australia.

Cox Plate FAQ’s

How much prize money is on offer?
Over $3,000,000 AUD Cash
Wich horses have won the Cox Plate more than once
Kingston Town won 3 times. Phar Lap, Flight, Tobin Bronze, Sunline, Northerly and Fields Of Omagh won the Cox Plate twice.
Which horses have won the Melbourne Cup, Cox Plate double?
Makybe Diva, Might and Power, Saintly, Nightmarch, Phar Lap, and Rising Fast.

Latest Cox Plate News