Victoria Derby

The Victoria Derby is an Australian Group 1 thoroughbred horse race for 3 year olds raced over 2500m and held at Flemington on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup. Every race on Derby Day is a Group race, which attracts some of the best horses in the country. “Fashions on the Field” are another main attraction of Derby Day, sponsored by Myer.

Derby Day FAQs and Information

Where is the Vic Derby Held?
Flemington Racecourse
What distance is the race?
How much prize money is on offer?
$1,500,000 AUD cash + $10,000 Trophy

2015 Victoria Derby Winner & Placings

1st: Tarzino

2nd: Etymology

3rd: Kia Ora Koutou

Tips for Betting on the 2018 Victoria Derby

The single best tip for betting on the Victoria Derby is to look at those horses who have been prepped to race 2,500 metres. Look at their recent race history to give you an indication of how they finished the race. Strong finishers tend to do better at longer distances and is a sign they are being trained well for the Victoria Derby. Check to see if the breeding stock can win over this distance or if they’re suited to shorter races.

Never be afraid to go against favourite, it is a fact that favourites lose much more than they win, the Vic. Derby is no different. It is not unheard of for massive long shots to win the race as there are some very high quality horses racing who may have gone under the radar of most punters. See if you can find a diamond in the rough, your wallet will thank you for it.

Past Winners of the Victoria Derby

Year Horse Jockey Trainer Time
2015 Tarzino C Newitt M G Price 2:38.3
2014 Preferment D Oliver C J Waller 2:37.8
2013 Polanski Hugh Bowman R E Laing 2:38.6
2012 Fiveandahalfstar Damien Oliver Anthony Cummings 2:35.9
2011 Sangster Hugh Bowman Trent Busuttin 2:40.3
2010 Lion Tamer Hugh Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker 2:46.4
2009 Monaco Consul Corey Brown Michael Moroney 2:41.7
2008 Rebel Raider Clare Lindop Leon Macdonald 02:36.9
2007 Kibbutz Craig Williams David Hayes 02:40.9
2006 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson 2:38.3
2005 Benicio Noel Callow Lee Freedman 2:37.1
2004 Plastered Paul Harvey Lindsay Smith 02:35.5
2003 Elvstroem Damien Oliver Tony Vasil 2:39.0
2002 Helenus Steven King Leon Corstens 2:40.5
2001 Amalfi Damien Oliver Peter Moody 2:34.6
2000 Hit The Roof Glen Boss David Hall 2:39.0

Latest Victoria Derby News

  • Bowman continues his love affair with the Oaks Friday, 13 April 2018
    Unforgotten came out of the same Kembla maiden from July last year that produced Victoria Derby winner Ace High. “She’s always been a bit special. I hate to put the mockers on these fillies but she’s. […]
  • G1 placegetter claims Class 1 at Moruya Monday, 9 April 2018
    He started at $1.20. The five-year-old son of New Approach ran second behind Tarzino in the 2015 Victoria Derby and second behind Howard Be Thy Name in the 2016 South Australia Derby. He’s dual Group. […]
  • Levendi trumps Ace High in epic Derby battle Saturday, 7 April 2018
    It was the Derby that trainer Peter Gelagotis thought he would have got in the spring. “We always wanted to go to Victoria Derby and he hurt a knee in the Caulfield Guineas and we had to change tack. […]
  • Australian Derby: David Payne hoping luck is on his side as Ace High shoots for rare double Thursday, 5 April 2018
    ACE High can etch his name alongside former champions Dulcify and Mahogany if he can complete the Victoria Derby-ATC Australian Derby double at Royal Randwick on Saturday. Trainer David Payne maintain. […]
  • Ace High On Track for 2018 ATC Derby: Rare Double Calls Thursday, 5 April 2018
    Mahogany was the last three-year-old to salute in Melbourne’s Victoria Derby (1993) before returning the next autumn and winning Sydney’s equivalent over the mile and a half in the Australian Derb. […]
  • Tavistock Abbey on Queensland Derby path Thursday, 5 April 2018
    The Anthony Freedman-trained gelding broke his maiden at his third start last September at Bendigo over 1600m before taking out the Victoria Derby Trial (1800m) at Flemington. Tavistock Abbey was unpl. […]
  • Punters not afraid of showing their hand Wednesday, 4 April 2018
    Punters are warming more and more to Ace High to complete the Victoria Derby-Australian Derby double when he lines up this Saturday at Randwick. The David Payne trained three year old was okay last ti. […]
  • Victoria Derby winner Ace High looks to win the Derby that matters Wednesday, 4 April 2018
    Ace High’s owner John Cordina had to wait a long time to find another Fairway and it is his first horse that makes Saturday’s Australian Derby so special. In his outstanding spring, Ace High won t. […]