Johnny Warren Medal

Johnny Warren Medal Betting

The Johnny Warren Medal is the award given to the best player in the Hyundai A-League. It was first awarded in the National Soccer League in 1990, and upon the NSL’s demise in November 2004, was carried forward into the A-League. It is named after former Australia national football (soccer) team captain and tireless promoter of football (soccer) in Australia, Johnny Warren.

The most interesting fact about the award is that it’s voted upon by the actual players of the game. This is much different to the Brownlow Medal, AFL Football’s best and fairest award, which is voted on after each game by the umpires.

Previous Johnny Warren Medal Winners

Season Player Team
2012-13 Marco Rojas Melbourne Victory
2011-12 Thomas Broich Brisbane Roar
2010-11 Argentina Marcos Flores Adelaide United
2009-10 Costa Rica Carlos Hernandez Melbourne Victory
2008-09 New Zealand Shane Smeltz Wellington Phoenix
2007-08 Australia Joel Griffiths Newcastle Jets
2006-07 Australia Nick Carle Newcastle Jets
2005-06 Australia Bobby Despotovski Perth Glory

Latest Johnny Warren Medal News

  • Merrick targets final two Jets signings Monday, 26 June 2017
    The Scotsman is still keen to add two players, with one clearly in the mould of free agent Nathan Burns, who won the Johnny Warren medal under Merrick at Wellington. “All in all, we’ve added quali. […]
  • Jets’ target Burns exits J-League Friday, 23 June 2017
    Burns joined the J.League side in 2015 after a successful period with Wellington Phoenix where he scored 14 goals in 24 appearances and picked up the 2014/15 Johnny Warren Medal. Former Phoenix coach. […]
  • Sydney FC star in EA Sports’ FUT Rest of World TOTS Wednesday, 21 June 2017
    The accolade comes after Ninkovic helped the Sky Blues to the Premiership and Championship double, while collecting the Johnny Warren Medal as the Hyundai A-League’s best player for the 2016/17 season. […]
  • Sydney FC transfer news: Carney, Dimitrijevic to re-sign, ‘exciting’ winger pursuit Wednesday, 24 May 2017
    The signature of skipper Alex Brosque this week locked in Arnold’s starting XI apart from Filip Holosko, who returned to Europe in the absence of a new deal after his marquee place was taken by John. […]