AFL Premiership Grand Final Betting

AFL Premiership Grand Final Betting Tips

Betting on the Australian Football League Grand Final winner can be a fun and profitable way to support your footy team.

For AFL teams, winning the Premiership Cup and accompanying flag is their ultimate objective, the reason a footy club exists. Not to mention the individual honour of a premiership medallion which is given to each player in a premiership side. Winning a premiership is without a doubt the dream of every AFL footballer who has ever played the game.

The AFL Grand Final is widely regarded as Australia’s most popular and important sporting event, even more important than the Melbourne Cup. Each year the Grand Final brings a near capacity crowd of 100,000 people to the MCG, and it’s watched LIVE by millions of people on televisions across Australia and the world.

Tips for Betting on the Grand Final

One very important thing to keep in mind is the fact that the AFL Finals Series in September are all played with much more intensity, they’re more physical, and require a generally more demanding style of play than throughout the regular home and away season. Umpires don’t seem to be as quick to blow the whistle, and depending on the conditions, stronger bodies or faster legs can become a huge asset on Grand Final Day.

Just because a team finished on top of the ladder, this doesn’t necessarily mean they have the Premiership Cup “in the bag”.

  • As with all sports betting, always bet with your head, not your heart.
  • Take note of the emergencies, in case “games” are being played by the selection committee.
  • Instead of placing a straight out win bet, look closeley at the lines and margins on offer.
  • Make sure you look at the team lists to see if there is an obvious mismatch that could be exploited.
  • Check the weather forecast and note if it will be wet or dry, then see which team will be better suited to the conditions.
  • Study the finals form of both teams heading into the Grand Final, football in September is different than the Home & Away season.
  • Keep your eyes and ears open for any injury reports at training, and take note of any suspended players unable to play in the Grand Final.

Recent AFL Grand Final Winners & Runners Up

2016 was the very first VFL/AFL Premiership ever won by the Western Bulldogs. The whole of Melbourne and half of Victoria celebrated with them because they were playing against an interstate team, namely Sydney. There was heartbreak for the captain, Robert Murphy (aka Bob), who played a pivotal role in getting his side to the Grand Final, succumbed to a serious injury in the final minutes of the preliminary final, after the team already had the win in the bag. Although he must have felt devastated at the time, even more so having to watch his team mates go out and win the Grand Final the next week without being out there to help, the Bulldogs coach got Bob up on stage and gave Bob his own medallion, showing just how important Bob was to the team, the year they’d had, the culture at the Bulldogs and ultimately, their very first AFL Grand Final win.

It was the year of the Hawk in 2013 and 2014 & 2015. Hawthorn have now won back to back to back premierships, 3 in a row is an enormously difficult achievement to do, especially when you consider the many hardships the football team faced during the last several years.

Injuries, the loss of members of both the playing group and coaching staff’s family members, missing their senior coach for a large part of the 2014 season and losing their highest kicking goal scorer, Lance Franklin to free agency the year before to the eventual runners-up, the Sydney Swans.

The dominant 2015 grand final win against the West Coast Eagles has made it clear that Hawthorn are the greatest team of the modern era with four premierships in 8 years. While some of their major players are aging, they are showing no signs of slowing down and their list depth is the envy of many clubs, their VFL affiliate team, the Box Hill Hawks have also made the last three grand finals, however they haven’t been as successful as their AFL counterparts, only winning in 2013.

Year Premiers Runners Up
2018 TBA TBA
2017 Richmond Adelaide
2016 Bulldogs Sydnew
2015 Hawthorn West Coast
2014 Hawthorn Sydney
2013 Hawthorn Fremantle
2012 Sydney Hawthorn
2011 Geelong Collingwood
2010 Collingwood St Kilda
2009 Geelong St Kilda
2008 Hawthorn Geelong
2007 Geelong Port Adelaide
2006 West Coast Sydney Swans
2005 Sydney Swans West Coast
2004 Port Adelaide Brisbane Lions
2003 Brisbane Lions Collingwood
2002 Brisbane Lions Collingwood
2001 Brisbane Lions Essendon
2000 Essendon Melbourne
1999 North Melbourne Carlton
1998 Adelaide North Melbourne
1997 Adelaide St Kilda
1996 North Melbourne Sydney Swans
1995 Carlton Geelong
1994 West Coast Geelong
1993 Essendon Carlton
1992 West Coast Geelong
1991 Hawthorn West Coast
1990 Collingwood Essendon

Latest AFL Betting News

3,’shortdesc’=> 500));

$rss = array(
echo SimplePieWP($rss);