Online Cricket Betting Tips, Odds & News

Online Cricket Betting Tips, Odds & News for The Ashes Test Series, One Day & Twenty20 Games

Cricket, also known as the gentleman’s game unless you’re a fan in which case it’s a barmy game. There are 104 countries playing international cricket today. Originally, cricket was the national sport of England and as the British Empire expanded, they began teaching those they had conquered or colonised. They later found out that it was a very bad idea as these countries started beating them at it!

Australian cricket consists of the national team, the Ford Ranger cup, an intense one day competition and the Sheffield Shield, the competition where the counties of Australia battle to be the best in the country.

Bet On Cricket

Common Online Cricket Betting Makets

Test Match & Series Winner

For each single match and series you can bet on the outright winner, or a draw in the case of a test match.

Test Match Betting

The Ashes

The Ashes is a series of test matches played between England and Australia and has a long history, dating back to 1882-83 when Australia beat England and a newspaper declared that cricket had died and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. The Ashes urn is about 15 cm tall and is rumoured to contain the ashes of a burnt cricket ball. Winners of the Ashes series do not take possession of the actual urn, the urn stays at the MCC Museum at Lord’s. The winning country is awarded an Ashes Trophy.

Betting on The Ashes often results from strong patriotic feelings and punters know the long rivalry between Australia and England runs deep. The bragging rights for the winner of The Ashes sometimes borders on obsessive, even if it’s all in good fun. Some do take cricket betting very seriously, but most enjoy just watching the two of the world’s best cricket nations batting, bowling and fielding over the course of the test matches.

Most Common Ashes Betting Markets:

Ashes Series Overall Winner or Draw

Winner of Each Individual Test Match

Series Correct Score

Most Series Runs

Most Series Wickets

Highest Scoring Ground

Limited Overs, One Day Internationals

One Day matches are a form of limited overs (usually 50) cricket between two teams representing different countries international status. The team who bats first sets the target which the team that bats second attempts to reach. If the second batting team reaches the target before the limited overs are finished, they win. If they don’t meet the target, or are bowled out, they lose. A draw can occur in One Day matches, however they are rare. A Draw happens if both teams are on equal runs when the overs are bowled, or when the second team runs out of wickets.

The 10 Test playing nations have permanent One Day International (ODI) status, these are Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, South Africa. Since 2005, the ICC has given temporary ODI status to several other teams which consist of Kenya, Canada, Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands and Afghanistan.

There are two main ODI tournaments which are the ICC World Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy.

ICC Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is played every four years and is one of the most watched sports events in the world. The teams are decided by a qualification system similar to that of the soccer World Cup. The 10 Test playing nations are automatically entered into the final qualification round while other teams need to earn their place.

ICC Champions Trophy Winner

Consisting of both round-robin and knockout One Day International matches played between 8 countries in two groups. The countries include Australia, New Zealand, England, India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies & Pakistan. The top teams from each group progress to the Semi-Finals and the last two teams remaining compete in the Final match.

Twenty20 Internationals

T20 Big Bash League Betting

Whether you call it 20 20, twenty twenty, t20 or twenty20, this is without a doubt the most exciting type of cricket to watch, and the betting is no different. There are plenty of different betting markets including winning team, highest run scorer, highest wicket taker and plenty of exotics and specials.

T20, One Day & Test Match Winning Team

For each single Twenty20, One Day International (ODI) or Test Match, you can bet on the outright winner, or a draw in the case of a test match.

Exotic Live & Online Cricket Betting Info

First Score of the Game, or Day in a Test Match

Bet on a single run off the bat or a score of 2, 3, 4, 6 or other (including extras) from the first ball of play of the day.

First Man Out

Take a punt on who will be dismissed first for the game, or the first dismissal on each day of a test match.

Highest Scoring Batsmen for Each Team

Simply pick the player who scores the most runs and win the bet

Mode of First Dismissal

Get good odds when you choose the correct mode of very 1st dismissal of the match or day, including:

  • Caught by a fielder
  • Caught by the wicket keeper
  • Clean Bowled
  • LBW
  • Stumped
  • Run Out
  • Any Other Mode of Dismissal

Most Batsmen Dismissed by Run Out

Bet on which team will have the most batsmen dismissed by way of run out, including a tie.

Total Run Outs

You can elect to bet on zero, one or the most common betting option of more than two runouts for the enter match, which usually pays about $2.50.

First Over Runs for Each Team

Punt on exactly how many runs will be scored in the first over with the option to bet on a maiden, right through to 7 runs or more.

Man Of The Match Betting

Simply betting on who will win the man of the match award in any given game of cricket. You can often find very nice odds for this exotic betting option.

Most Wickets for Each Team

Take into account the weather and pitch to find good odds for which bowler you think will get the most wickets for the match.

Highest Individual Match Score

In test matches, this includes both innings. Options include 1-24, 25-49, 50-74, 75-99 and 100 runs or more.

Live In-Play Cricket Betting

One new form of betting on cricket which has evolved thanks to the internet and online bookmakers is what’s called Live in-play cricket betting. In-Play bets are able to be placed over the internet from Bet 365, since it’s based in the UK as well as over the phone via SportingBet, Australia’s largest online bookmaker. Due to strange laws in Australia, it’s illegal for Aussie bookies to take live bets over the internet, but it’s perfectly fine to do so over the telephone. If you don’t see the irony in the fact that we use the telephone lines to connect to the internet, then it’s just not cricket.

Bet On Cricket

Latest Cricket Betting Posts

Latest Cricket News & Headlines